Posted by: Brian | June 22, 2011

Minnesota Archaeology Field School

Students testing our first site

I’m ‘up north’, as we say in Minnesota. I’m leading my first Minnesota archaeology field school. We’ve been surveying the shoreline of Roosevelt Lake in Cass/Crow Wing Counties. I’m having a blast (and feeling really guilty that I’m not writing my Aniakchak report). We’ve found a couple of sites, had some fascinating exchanges with a group of Native American interns, and enjoyed being in the north woods.

Right now I’m sitting on the porch of a cabin near where we’re staying, listening to loons call and watching the mist move past the far shore.It’s pretty sweet.

My crew is great – a really fun bunch of students. They’re learning the ropes and working hard. We’re invited to dinner at a cabin across the lake, so I have to keep this short. Two more days of digging and then we’re off to our next project.

Leave a Reply

Categories

